Life Update

Tea & A Catch Up #2

In the wake of some pretty big changes this past month or two, blogging seems to have fallen by the wayside a little bit. But, I do have a decent excuse! I’m now fast approaching the end of my working holiday visa, and have started to plan my eventual return to the UK. Having lived here in Ontario for almost 2 years, the thought of starting all over again feels strange and intimidating. On the other hand, the timing feels right. The years I’ve spent in Canada have been life changing (more on that in a future post), so I’m certain that I’ll return again and again. I won’t be leaving until the autumn though, so there’s still plenty of time to share more of my wonderful experiences with you all.

With spring time in full swing, I’ve enjoyed spending a lot more time outdoors. You’re never too far from a lake in this lovely country, and I do love a good body of water. There’s something instantly calming about walking along a shoreline. That is of course, when it isn’t upwards of 30 degrees and almost too humid to breathe (that’s my only criticism, Canada. You’re awesome otherwise). I’ve also spotted rabbits roaming the garden since the snow has melted and the unmistakable fleck of cardinal red among the tree branches; truly one of this seasons small joys.

In terms of my reading, the pace has slowed down somewhat. However, I did read my first Virginia Woolf novel recently and that was a real treat. I’m not too familiar with stream of consciousness as a literary device, and it was unlike anything I’d ever read before. I chose To the Lighthouse (learning soon afterwards that apparently, Mrs Dalloway or Orlando would have been better to start with) and although it wasn’t the easiest read I’ve ever attempted it was one of the most uniquely engaging.

Next on my list is The Clay Girl by Heather Tucker. I picked it up at a quaint little book store in Port Perry, Ontario on a whim, only to be told by the bookseller that it was the best novel she had ever read. I don’t think I’ve ever had such an enthusiastic response to my buying a book before, so I’m very excited about this one.

In the meantime, I’ve been really enjoying the new Hulu adaptation of the The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I suspect all book to TV adaptations will now be measured against this one, it is just that brilliant. I can attest that if you’re a fan of the book, you will not be disappointed. Elisabeth Moss, who plays Offred and Samira Wiley, who plays Moira are a match made in heaven.

So that’s all of the bookish news I have for you. Now onto making plans for the summer, which I hope to share with you soon and will include roaming Ontario and spending as much time lakeside as I can possibly manage. Summer in cottage country is a uniquely Canadian experience, so you can bet that it will feature heavily on this blog in the coming months!

 

What are you currently reading?  How are you making the most of the spring?

One thought on “Tea & A Catch Up #2

  1. It definitely sounds like you’ve had a busy couple of months! My blogging has really fallen by the wayside too, and I don’t even have a good excuse! 🙂
    I’m so excited for you returning to the UK though! It’ll be great to see you in real life again! I hope you get to enjoy as much of Canada as possible though before you leave, and I’m looking forward to your posts all about what you’ve been up to.
    I really do need to check out that book The Clay Girl, as I don’t think I’ve ever had anyone be super enthusiastic about a book I’ve bought before either, and I still need to start watching The Handmaid’s Tale 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

